Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Welcome to the new Flight Sim Forum!

  1. #1
    Training Captain Ultimate Collector JustPlaneCrazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    USA - Russia
    Posts
    109,957

    Welcome to the new Flight Sim Forum!

    OK all you flight sim nuts, this section is for you!

    Discuss software, add-on's, recommend hardware, post screen shots of your flights, anything to do with flight simulation
    Correct response to being robbed at gunpoint
    ---------------------------------------

    ---------------------------------------
    THE NUMBER ONE CAUSE OF DEATH
    ---------------------------------------
    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

  2. #2
    MAXimum Fly Time! Regular Hangar Mechanic aeromini's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    93
    Can anybody post pics of free downloads from simviation.com please-civil aviation, general aviation and vintage aircraft only!!

  3. #3
    Santos Dumont 1st to fly Pro Collector Otavio Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Southern Brazil
    Posts
    8,548
    Great new Todd. So here is my question: how can I add planes to the FSX?

    Thanks guys

  4. #4
    Santos Dumont 1st to fly Pro Collector Otavio Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Southern Brazil
    Posts
    8,548
    Dear friends

    I still can´t install add-on aircrafts to the FSX. I used to do this in FS2004 but in the newest version I am having troubles. Any help would be much appreciated.

    Thanks in advance.

  5. #5
    Relief Pilot Supreme Hangar Mechanic EZTRGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    YYZ
    Posts
    1,055
    What plane are you having trouble with Otavio?

    It's been awhile (my daughter has been keeping me very busy, lol and there's another one inbound as I write :0) but I believe installing aircraft into FSX is pretty much the same as FS9.

    Tell me what file it is you are trying to install and I'll d/l it and see if anything is messed up.

    Cheers,
    EZTRGT
    Kyle
    How about some Aeroclassics CP Air B727-200's?
    Most of Type in Collection = 58 B747's
    Most of Airline in Collection = 59 Air Canada

  6. #6
    Santos Dumont 1st to fly Pro Collector Otavio Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Southern Brazil
    Posts
    8,548
    Quote Originally Posted by EZTRGT View Post
    What plane are you having trouble with Otavio?

    It's been awhile (my daughter has been keeping me very busy, lol and there's another one inbound as I write :0) but I believe installing aircraft into FSX is pretty much the same as FS9.

    Tell me what file it is you are trying to install and I'll d/l it and see if anything is messed up.

    Cheers,
    EZTRGT
    Kyle

    Hi Kyle

    Nice to talk to you.

    The file I am try to download is hosted at www.surclaro.com here: http://www.surclaro.com/download.php...arig&op=search

    I followed the spets to install it after the download but I canīt locate the specific folder install the a/c. See what I did:

    1) downloaded the file into microsoft games/simobjects
    2) I created a new folder inside the aircraft folder named Lockheed Electra
    3) unzipped the file inside this new folder
    4) didnīt locate the specific folder and the aircraft isnīt in the FSX database

    Thanks in advance

  7. #7
    Relief Pilot Supreme Hangar Mechanic EZTRGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    YYZ
    Posts
    1,055
    Sorry Otavio,

    I don't have FSX installed at the moment so I can't check an FSX install.

    But I have a feeling if you look where you unzipped the file, you may find it. But I have a feeling it's there, just that it installed it with the folder heirarchy underneath the file name. Poke around your simobjects folder and see if it is, in fact, there. It may just be buried in there.

    I am at a loss to better explain what I mean, lol.

    For example, you may have it listed like this....

    C:/microsoft games/FSX/simobjects/your varing plane/microsoft games/FSX/simobjects/your varig plane.

    If so you need to move the your varig plane folder with the texture, panel, sound, and model sub folders into the simobjects folder.

    It's like it installed it twice.

    Have a look and let me know. We'll get ya in the air

    Cheers,
    EZTRGT
    Kyle
    How about some Aeroclassics CP Air B727-200's?
    Most of Type in Collection = 58 B747's
    Most of Airline in Collection = 59 Air Canada

  8. #8
    Santos Dumont 1st to fly Pro Collector Otavio Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Southern Brazil
    Posts
    8,548
    Thank you Kyle

    The VARIG L-188 wasnīt working out because I made a mistake: I downloaded only the texture without adding the rest of the plane.

    I will try tonight to download a complete aircraft and see how it works. Thanks again my friend.

  9. #9
    Administrator Regular Hangar Mechanic
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    236
    This is a long time ago, but that did that work out for you Octavio? I used to run into the same problem. Are you running the new MS software?

    David

  10. #10
    Santos Dumont 1st to fly Pro Collector Otavio Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Southern Brazil
    Posts
    8,548
    Quote Originally Posted by PWA Man View Post
    This is a long time ago, but that did that work out for you Octavio? I used to run into the same problem. Are you running the new MS software?

    David
    Hello David

    I am not playing FS anymore due to the lack of time but my son does play a lot. As he has hundreds od add-ons and liveries installed on his FSX he asked me to not buy the new FS and keep the windows 7 running in that computer so he is doing it right now but facing some issues with the game like out of the blue the game re-starts or even froze.

  11. #11
    Administrator Regular Hangar Mechanic
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    236
    Hi again Octavio.

    Your son is right. If you're not running a high end machine with the new MS sim, even with the cloud computing, it is disappointing. I still use FSX myself. The issues you relate to can be due to the older operating system but more likely due to conflicts in all of the the add-ons. I suggest an ad-on manager. They are either cheap or free.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •