PDA

View Full Version : Model Review: AC LOT Polish Airlines 767-300/ER

Speedbird91
03-02-2008, 03:24 AM
Sorry guys for the late review, I am in the process of selling my house and moving, have had a few open for inspections taking place.

This one comes from the heart and this model is quite sentimental to me as my background is actually Polish.

Polskie Linie Lotnicze or LOT is the flag carrier of the counrty of Poland. Being established in 1929, LOT is one of the oldest airlines in the world.
LOT throughout it's many years of service has used many various types of aircraft. The carrier started with Junkers F.13 aircraft as well as some fokker light aircraft which were used on flights to Vienna and Bucharest and Berlin, Athens, Beirut, Helsinki, Rome.
Douglas DC-2, Lockheed L-10A Electra and L-14H Super Electra were also introduced for the ever growing carrier.
By the war, LOT carried 218,000 people.
During the communist era, AN-2s, AN-24s, IL-62s and TU-154s were used internationally and even across the Atlantic. A few Convair 240s were the only real Western aircraft used during these times.
Currently, LOT uses Boeing 737-300,-400,-500s and E-145 and 170/175s for routes across Europe and 767-200/300s for international service North America. ATR 42/72 are used for regional service.
LOT was the first European airline to order the 787 but is expected to place a large aircraft order for additional aircraft before the 787 is delivered to replace and expand the fleet due in part to Poland being the largest expanding market for air travel in Europe today.

Model: ACSPLPA
Airline: LOT Polish Airlines, Polskie Linie Lotnicze
Aircraft: Boeing 767-300/ER
Release Date:
Units: 408
Notes:

OK, enough about history and onto the review.

The Pros
I simply do not understand how such a fantastic model is simply never talked about and I'm not just saying that because I have a Polish background.
The model is absolutely fantastic! Period.